DIY Black & White Striped Curtains

I loved this idea, but finding fabric with big, chunky horizontal stripes is next to impossible.  So I decided to make my own.

Although I did cheat a tiny bit and bought curtain panels from Ikea to work off of.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • White curtain panels. COST: $19.99 for a pair
  • Black twin sheets (1 sheet per panel you’re making–at least). COST: $5.00 each I got my sheets from Walmart
  • Stitch Witchery (fusible web) COST: $2.99
  • Rotary cutter & mat (This isn’t necessary, but the cuts are SO much easier on a rotary cutter)

TOTAL COST: $32.98 per window (two panels).

I loved the big, chunky stripes, so I went with 14″ stripes.

WHAT TO DO:

1. Measure your white curtain width & length for reference.  Use some simple math to figure out how thick you want your stripes.  I made mine 14″ wide.  So 14″ white, 14″ black, 14″ white, 14″ black, etc…

2. Take one of the black sheets and cut all the edge seams off as close to the edge as possible.

3. Lay the black sheet on the floor and cut out 15-16″ stripes (the extra inch is so you’ll have a 1/2-1″ of fabric to fold over for a nice edge)  NOTE: I cut my stripes to the correct width (across) in addition to the 14″ height and ran into trouble–I think perhaps because I didn’t use enough pins, when I was sewing there were several times when I didn’t quite have enough fabric to make it all the way across the white panel & I had to sew additional fabric onto the black stripes.  My recommendation is to cut the 14″ stripes, but don’t cut the width until you’re at the sewing machine ready to sew that section.

4. Iron the edges on all of your black stripes.  This is a great tip for getting evenly-ironed edges

5. Lay out your white panels & pin the black stripes on.  Be generous with the pins.  I learned that the hard way.

6. Sew on the black stripes to the panels. (Or sew the edges of the black sheets and then use stitch witchery to iron the black stripes onto the panels.)  Sew as close to the edge of the black fabric as you can.

7. Iron everything & hang. (I waited to hem mine because I added a liner several days later)

**If your panels are meant to be more than decorative, you’ll probably need to add a liner to them–I (again) used cheap white sheets from Walmart ($5).  I cut the sheets to fit the size of the back (with an additional 1/2″ to sew an edge), sewed all the edges of the white sheet, and then used the stitch witchery fusible web to attach the white sheet to the back of my panel. (The lining also gets rid of the black thread used to sew on the stripes).

The Ikea panels usually come with some fusible web too; this is a great method for hemming curtains without a seam.

NOTE: This project wasn’t overly difficult, but it was time consuming.  I spent almost an entire day making 4 panels, but they’re totally worth it.  Exactly the effect I was going for.

6 responses

  1. Thanks for linking up to my getting to know you party! Your blog is great, love those bold curtains, and I did the crayon art thing too but yours turned out better than mine 🙂 Maybe we can swap guest posts sometime!

  2. I love your black and white striped curtains!! What length curtains did you purchase and where did you purchase them? I keep finding 84″ everywhere. Yours look longer. Thank you!! 🙂

    • Hi Jill,

      I bought my white curtains from IKEA. I think IKEA sells then at about 118″ which means you can hem them for almost any room. They were also really inexpensive– even cheaper than trying to purchase yards of fabric from the store. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

