Ombre paint chip art

I’m linking up to the great Pinterest Challenge bloggers today. Young House Love, Bower Power, Hi Sugarplum, and The Great Indoors.

I love paint chip art, partially because there are so many color options available, and partially because paint chips are F-R-E-E.

Here are a couple of my inspiration pictures.

and

I wanted something that would match the colors I already had in the room, so instead of it truly being ombre, it’s more of a pixelated color gradation from blue to yellow.  And I absolutely LOVE it.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Paint chips
  • Frames
  • Scissors
  • Tape

Here’s what you do:

1. Cut your paint chips into squares.  I measured the width of the matting in my frame and divided it by different numbers to figure out what the best size of square would be.  I didn’t want my squares too small, but I also didn’t want them too big.  Mine ended up being 2×2″ which worked perfect with the Ribba frames from Ikea I used.  I cut one square out and used it as a template for all the rest– that way I knew the sizes were staying consistent.

2. Lay out your pattern.  Move colors around until you’re happy with the layout.

3. Use double sided tape, or roll little pieces of tape to adhere the paint chips in the pattern you selected.

4. Frame your practically free art.

I ended up doing two of them, with the same colors in the same pattern.  I have them flanking a window in my TV room, but to keep it from looking too “matchy matchy”, I flipped one of the frames upside down.  So the pattern is the same on both sides, but opposite.

What projects have you been working on lately?

6 responses

  1. These look great! I’m always a fan of paint chip projects as you will see on my blog.
    I like that you did ombre with the colours of the room instead of just in one colour family and the twist with flipping the second picture.

    I’d love for you to check out my Pinterest project and paint chip posts if you get a chance.

    Thanks!

    Claire @ alittlesomethinginthemeantime.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

