DIY Earring Holder

This is a really fun (and useful!) craft that I whipped up a while ago– I just forgot to share it on here!

I hated having all my earrings mixed up in a box.  Trying to find a match and having to untangle a ball of earrings was never fun.  I saw a picture of something similar, so I gave it a try.  Who knew it would be this easy.

What you need:

  • Frame
  • chicken wire (You can buy this at any hardware store. Choose the width of the wire that works best for you; I liked my slots small enough that I could get many pairs of earrings on, but big enough that I didn’t have to remove the plastic backings on each pair to put them on the grate.)
  • Wire clippers
  • Work gloves
  • Hot glue gun

What to do:

1. Remove the glass from the frame and discard.  To discard broken glass (or panes) put it in a cardboard box, tape it up, and write glass all over the box before dumping it in the trash.

2. Turn the frame over and lay the chicken wire over the back opening to figure out what size you’ll need it to be.  Cut out.  The wire is really sharp, so wear gloves while cutting/handling it.

3. Lay the wire down where the glass used to be and hot glue it to the back of the frame.

Voilá!  Now just hang it on the wall.  It’s a fun way to show off your earrings, keep them untangled, and optimize your work space.

Here is the dresser in my closet with all my jewelry and makeup.  Who knew getting ready in the mornings could be so fun.

Today I’m linking up to Pretty Handy Girl’s DIY Talent Parade Link Party.  Check it out HERE.

5 responses

  1. Megan, what a fun and functional idea for earring storage! I love it! Thanks for joining the DIY Talent Parade! (psst, your first image isn’t showing up right now)

  2. Pingback: House Tour: Dressing Room | DIY Project-aholic

Leave a Reply

